State College DUI Lawyer – DUI Charges

Driving Under the Influence (DUI)

The State of Pennsylvania prohibits the operation of a motor vehicle by a driver with .08 percent or above blood alcohol concentration (BAC). The .08 BAC limit is a standard used across the United States for an “impaired” driver. Pennsylvania has lower BAC thresholds for commercial drivers (.04 percent) and has a “zero tolerance” or .02 percent BAC for drivers who are under the age of 21. The law also includes other controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine, inhalants and other intoxicants.

Pennsylvania also has an implied consent law. If you refuse to submit to a BAC test, then you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.

DUI is has been one of the major target enforcement areas in State College, University Park and Centre County for many years. Local law officials take driving under the influence very seriously, which makes consulting the right State College DUI lawyer a critical first step.

Find A State College DUI Lawyer

Contact our firm for a free consultation on your case. We’ll outline the facts at play in your case and use that to determine the right DUI defense strategy. DUI cases are handled in a standard manner in State College and in Pennsylvania, but there may always be facts at play that give your more options in your DUI defense.

Mandatory DUI Penalties

Driving under the influence in State College and Pennsylvania usually entails mandatory penalties. That means that unless there are facts at play that lead to your charges being dropped, you will face standard criminal penalties depending upon whether you’re a first-time or repeat offender, as well as your BAC when stopped.


Minimum Jail Time
Fines
License Suspension
IID Required*
1st Offense
No minimum required$300**
No**
Yes, if refusal to take chemical test
2nd Offense
5 days jail to 6 months
$300 to $2500
12 months
Yes, during period of restricted license
3rd Offense
10 days jail to two years
$500 to $5000
12 months
Yes, during period of restricted license

*Interlock Ignition Device
**Pennsylvania has different penalty tiers, depending on a driver’s BAC. The tiers are .08, .10 to .159%, and .16 or higher.

Regardless of the circumstances that led to your being charged, you need a State College DUI lawyer who is sympathetic and will work with you to get your life back on track as quickly as possible. Our firm focuses on the future, not on the past. We will take the facts surrounding your case and build the best possible DUI defense.

Contact us for a free legal consultation. Speak to a State College DUI lawyer with 35 years experience helping clients resolve their cases and move on with their lives.

↑ Top of Page